top of page

Christian Gaming Podcast Show Notes Episode 12






Welcome to Episode 12 of Christian Gaming Podcast!

The Gaming Podcast focused on putting God before gaming, being more mindful of our faith while we are gaming, finding games Christians can feel good about playing, gaming news, and more!

Follow the show on Twitter: twitter.com/A_CGPodcast

You can follow me on twitter @RainnaPlays

You can call the show at 269 248 1724

It is May 7 2019 !

I am your host Rainna SwiftSage


Jesus replied to the Devil in Matthew 4:4 "It is written: 'Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.” that so make sure you get your Bible study on before you hop in game!



Daily Bread

Hangry

Have you ever seen the snicker candy bar commercials? Where they show a person getting angry and looking like a completely different person like Betty White, because they were hungry and then they are offered a snickers bar and poof! The turn back into themselves ? They were HANGRY but snickers filled them up to make them happy, fulfilled, and no longer angry. Well I am sure the Mars company that makes the snicker bar would love for us to think that all we need to make us no longer angry and feel filled up is one of their candy bars. Now don't get me wrong, I love a snickers bar now and then, but it could never pull off in my life what Jesus has .

In the past, I had not always been a patient person. I would get stressed out very easily. I would get annoyed with inanimate objects easily, a trait I acquired from my father who struggled with the same thing. I remember him getting mad at his flashlight for having dead batteries in it so he chucked it off the roof. He was up on the roof inspecting the chimney and when he went to turn it on and it on and found the batteries were dead, it irritated him so badly that he threw it. I'm not sure how that was meant to help him out in anyway, but when we are angry we are not always the most rational beings. I remember when I was a teenager. It was summer and I wanted to wear my sunglasses. I dug out a pair and put them on my face. They sat crooked. I tried to adjust them. They sat crooked. I adjusted them again. They sat crooked. After a few more times of adjusting them to no avail, i ripped them off my face, crumpled the wired frames into a ball and tossed them in the trash. I'm not sure how I thought that would help keep the sun out of my eyes, but apparently I felt scoring a win against an inanimate object was more important that keeping the sun out of my eyes? Like I said,Angry people are not the most rational people.

I was talking to my husband after dinner last night about how we need to make sure to make time for God and to study his word. He shared he had fell out of habit the past week or so when it came to doing his bible studies and as a result has felt more annoyed and irritated with people around him. He had noticed a shift and had not really made the connection between his bad attitude and him slacking off in bible studies until we discussed it further. I shared that I too have had to be intentional in putting God first in my day. It isn't something that will do it on its own. God has given us free will to choose him from the very beginning and making time for him is part of that too. We have no problem waking up and grabbing a bite to eat to keep us from being “hangry” in the morning, but we fail to see that depriving ourselves from the word of God each day indeed turns us into “Hangry” people. Hungry for the word of God and angry because we are starving ourselves!

I have noticed a HUGE change in my patience levels since I have been reading the Bible each day. This doesn't mean I haven't been tested! I still have bad days but my ability to say NOT TODAY SATAN has increased exponentially. I can say this because I had a really trying day last week and I know that I would have handled it badly if I had been hangry for the work of God.

I was a beautiful day outside. Spring was in full effect. The sun was out and it was in the 70’s. My kids asked if we could go outside. I'm like sure! Why not! I can do my bible study outside in the sun. They can dig holes in my yard looking for bugs. Sounds perfect ! We head outside. It was just as I pictured it in my head. Then all of a sudden my 5yo son tells me he sees our dog across the street. I sprang to my feet and check the back yard fenced in dog area hoping to see our three dogs hanging out and I only saw one. Great. I have 2 dogs running around busy roads. I stop to say a prayer for their safety right away and then try to figure out how I am going to get them in. I bribe them with food with success. Once I got them in I see they are covered in dirt and debris and most likely ticks as they have already been out in full force here in the mitten. I toss them in the tub. We then decide to head outside again. Then my son tells me he sees our chickens have escaped! At that point the old me would have lost my ever loving mind. I most likely would have said a few expletives and promised myself a glass of wine later. But nope! Not today Satan! :) We head out and lure them in with food . It works. Crisis overcome and we head back to enjoying the beautiful day. Dinner time comes and we head in to wash up. What did I find out my floor? A puddle of pee from one of our dogs. You know, the ones that were just outside for 4 hours. They decided they wanted to pee on the dining room floor. I mop it up. Then I make dinner. I go to toss the garbage in the bin and its full. I tie it up and carry it outside. I turn around and see a dark brown nasty liquid had leaked out of the garbage bag and had followed me all the way to the door from the garbage bin. Lovely. Not today satan! I mop it up. I feed and water my kiddos and decide to toss them in the bathtub. I get my son out of the tub and send him to his room to get dressed and hear him yell , “MOM! A Dog peed in my room!” I thought to myself ,” Now how did they do that? I had all of the bedroom doors shut when we went outside so they wouldn't mess around in our rooms….? Then I notice that the pee in question was in the corner of his closet. We have girl dogs. How many girl dogs , medium to large in size. How many girl dogs would back themselves into the corner of a closet to relieve themselves? Then I noticed the liquid was still sitting on top of the carpet fibers and it hit me. My son did this! I looked at him and asked him if he was the one who did it . His little jaw drops open and he says “HOW DID YOU KNOW!?” HA HA! What a day!

Now you see? Had I been HANGRY...Had my belly been running empty of the word of God I would have lost my ever loving mind 2 minutes into this particular day. The enemy wants us to remain HAngry. He knows our hangry state not only affects us but everyone we are around, and in my case that would have been my kids. I would have taught my kids to lose their tempers just as I learned to from my dad. I would have taught my kids to cuss to make them feel better because I most likely would have said a few colorful words and I would have shown them to rely on alcohol to make them feel better as I would have rewarded myself with a glass of wine and complained about how bad my day was on social media...

BUT instead I tackled each event with the patience I never thought I would have had all because I had my belly full of the word of God. I was baptized in October of 2018 and I was reborn again in Jesus Christ. The old me died. The new me has two bellies now! I don't ever want to be hangry again. Let's be intentional and Make time each day for God and his word. You might not think you need too, but speaking from personal experience we all do. You might be hangry and not even know it but those around you do. Jesus informed the devil of our need for the word of God when he was being tempted by the devil in the wilderness. He replied to the enemies taunts in Matthew 4:4 (NKJV) by saying,

“It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.’ ”. Stay full brothers and sisters. Stay full!

Carrier Pigeon has arrived with some mail!

I wanted to thank Ryan Felton for the Shout out on the Saving the Game podcast!

That lead to a very awesome tweet by @JesusPeaceRadio

@JesusPeaceRadio

‏I'm def. not a #gamer, but heard of @CityOnAHillGame and @A_CGPodcast on the @SavingTheGame #podcast, a must listen for all the #ChristianGamers out there wanting a quality #ChristianPodcast. Glory to God for putting Christ @ the forefront of all aspects of life. ~ Ryland Junior

Thank you so much!

Please never hesitate to reach out and show the love in this world, you never know who needs it<3

12:04 PM - 3 May 2019

Watch out for that poll!

PLease turn mute or put earbuds in if listening at work or around kids because the topic subject is not safe for certain ears and environments.

Do you feel game stores (Virtual & Physical) should refuse to sell games like "Rape Day" and "Active Shooter" ? Take the poll, tweet or call 269-248-1724 to share your thoughts on the show!

As mom I say NO, because I don't want that garbage in the world im raising my kids in. As a christian I say I don't want it, but I understand why it is there. God has given us all free will. He could have forced us to love him but that wouldn't be real love. In the same way, I look at ,many things in my entertainment life. Just because we can doesn't mean we should. I know that we are on this earth with good and evil.

Ephesians 6:12 New International Version (NIV) states

12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

I believe that this applies to our life in all areas.

This world is not a cake walk. We have choices to make as christians. Are the games we are developing bringing glory to god? Are games we are playing? I'm pretty sure we can argue it is how we are playing them instead of what we are playing, and some have said we shouldn't be playing them at all, but I will leave that up to God to continue his work within us as its not my place to ridicule or judge others walk with the Lord.

I'm a fan of free speech and allowing the people to make choices just as God allowed humans to do all throughout the Bible. I like to know who thinks what and does what by being able to see the choices they make and the words they say. If we take that freedom away from anyone, even stores, then how are we to know who is who and what is what? The more we force wolves back into sheep's clothing, it will become harder for us to spot the wolves in my opinion...

What I've been upto:

Ear infection

Homeschooling year coming to an end

Playing Titan Uprising on mobile. They added clans :)

Started reading The Complete works of CM Bounds on Prayer

Gaming News

Games that don't make you feel like you're compromising our faith!

Gaming News

Gaming/Christian Info

PS5:

There's a new PlayStation coming.

It does not have an official name yet

In an interview on Wired,PlayStation 4 lead system architect Mark Cerny confirmed the next-gen PlayStation is partially based on PS4 architecture, which means that it is backwards compatible.

Cerny also shared that it is not an all-digital device, and will accept physical discs.

According to Cerny the transition from PS4 to PS5, will be a "gentle one,"

He added that numerous games will be released for both PS4 and the next-gen console.

The console will house an AMD chip that has a CPU based on the third-generation Ryzen.

It'll have eight cores of the seven-nanometer Zen 2 microchip.

The console will support 8K but will depend on the TVs catching up.

The graphics will be driven by a custom version of Radeon's Navi line.

This graphics chip is said to support ray tracing, which is reportedly becoming popular in movies and video games.

the current PSVR headset is compatible with the new console

According to Cerny, developers let Sony know that what they want solid-state drives in the new hardware, as opposed to the slower equivalents used in current consoles.

Report: Apple willing to spend over $500 million bringing games to Arcade

Apple is willing to spend "hundreds of millions" of dollars to fill out its Apple Arcade premium game subscription service with quality titles.

The Financial Times claims to have spoken with multiple sources familiar with the matter, the iPhone maker will "likely" splash out over $500 million to create a tantalizing portfolio of top-notch mobile games.

The company is is said to be offering perks to developers

has already agreed to spend "several" million dollars on individual titles.

Apple Arcade was announced in March and is scheduled to launch in over 150 countries and regions this the fall.

Apple hasn't said how much the service will cost

OpenAI's machine learning bots defeat Dota 2 champion team

There's an ongoing trend of pitting trained AI agents against professional esports teams to test their skills

A team of AI agents created and trained by the artificial intelligence startup OpenAI has recently taken down the reigning Dota 2 The International champions Team OG.

Following the match, OpenAI has opened up sign-ups (for a limited period of time) to allow Dota 2 players to take the bot on for themselves, an opportunity that some AI-minded game devs might be interested in checking out.

Even The bots have been trained across years by playing millions of matches against themselves’

Employees of video game developer Riot Games walked out of their jobs yesterday , May 7, to protest treatment at the company.

Employees of the studio behind “League of Legends,” are protesting the company’s use of mandatory arbitration in cases of sexual harassment and sexual discrimination.

According to businessdictionary.com, private arbitration is a settlement of a dispute (whether of fact, law, or procedure) between parties to a contract by a neutral third party (the arbitrator) without resorting to court action. ... If both sides agree to be bound by the arbitrator's decision (the 'award') it becomes a binding arbitration.

On May 3rd, Riot planned to “start giving new employees the option to opt-out of such arbitration

According to an article in variety, “The promise to make changes to the company’s arbitration came after Riot Games employees started planning a walkout. The walkout was spurred by Riot’s attempts to end two lawsuits — both about sexism and misconduct at the studio — via forced arbitration.”

An organizer who asked that her name not be used told Variety“We are walking out against forced arbitration of past, current, and future employees, including contractors and those involved in current litigation.

She was also quoted saying, “ they don’t want it to be an opt-out option, but rather just not part of the contracts.

Riot provided a lengthy statement to Variety. I will include the link in the show notes, but they were quoted saying “As we have been for the past week, we will continue to listen to Rioters regarding their thoughts on arbitration and we’re thankful for everyone that has taken the time to meet with leadership about this issue.”

Only will time will tell.

Console News

According to Ea’s website, You will be able to

LEVEL UP THIS JULY WITH EA ACCESS ON PLAYSTATION 4*

EA Access is a video gaming subscription that lets you play EA's best games as much as you want.

EA Access for PS4 will cost $4.99 per month or $29.99 annually, the same price as the existing EA Access service on Xbox One.

Currently, EA Access promises subscribers access to more than 50 games as part of the Vault

EA has not provided a list of compatible games coming to the Vault for PS4

Many think the list will be smaller than what’s available on Xbox One because PS4 does not support PlayStation 3 games through backward compatibility.

You Sign up today on EA’s website and be informed by email when the subscription becomes available

No news for the 3DS

Nintendo continues to focus primarily on Switch and mobile.

Nintendo has no games announced for the system,

There's a few third-party titles left like Persona Q2.

In an article on Kotaku , Nintendo was quoted saying:

“We have nothing new to announce regarding first-party software for the Nintendo 3DS family of systems. We can confirm that new software is coming from third-party publishers.”

Here’s the May 2019 Games with Gold release schedule:

Marooners: Available May 1 to 31 on Xbox One

The Golf Club 2 Featuring PGA Tour: Available May 16 to June 15 on Xbox One

Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon: Available May 1 to 15 on Xbox One and Xbox 360

Comic Jumper: Available May 16 to 31 on Xbox One and Xbox 360

Xbox Live Gold subscribers can still pick up games from April’s lineup, including Tom

Clancy’s Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2.

Xbox Live Gold normally costs $9.99 per month (or $24.99 quarterly, $59.99 annually), but new subscribers can get their first month for $1.

PlayStation Plus subscribers

will get access to two PlayStation 4 games as part of the service in May: Overcooked and What Remains of Edith Finch.

Ghost Town Games’ Overcooked is a cooking simulation game developed by Ghost Town Games and published by Team17. In a local cooperative experience, players control a number of chefs in kitchens filled with various obstacles and hazards to rapidly prepare meals to specific orders under a time limit. The game was released for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One in 2016. A Nintendo Switch version was released on July 27, 2017.

What Remains of Edith Finch is an adventure game developed by Giant Sparrow and published by Annapurna Interactive for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One in 2017.

The game centres on the character of Edith Finch, last in the Finch family line, which has a perceived curse that causes all but one member of each generation to die in unusual ways. Edith has returned to her family's home off the coast of Washington (state)following her mother's death to explore the house they hastily abandoned years before. She learns about her relatives and their deaths by visiting their bedrooms, sealed off and treated as shrines to their memory, with each death played out in a short gameplay sequence to the player. The game is presented as an anthology of these mini-experiences, wrapped in the dramatic retelling of the family's history and fate through Edith's narration.

GAME Spotlights

Forza Street is free to play and out now on Windows 10

Turn 10 Studios has announced that Forza Street, 'designed to be played anytime, anywhere,' is available now on PC and is free to play.

You can download it from the Windows Store

Forza Street is actually a rebranding of Microsoft's Miami Street,

Its perfect for those without high-end rigs

Features streamlined controls and allows you to participate in super-quick, one-minute races as you aim to collect legendary cars and earn trophies.

Turn 10 is open to engaging with the community for suggestions and feedback and plan to add new features with future updates.

Forza 10 will be coming to Android AND IOS in the future

You can check out the full announcement trailer below.

Forager

Forager is a 2D open world game inspired by exploration, farming and crafting games such as Stardew Valley, Terraria & Zelda.

Gather, collect and manage resources.

Craft useful items & structures.

Build and grow a base out of nothing. Buy land to expand and explore.

Level up and learn new skills, abilities, and blueprints.

Solve puzzles, find secrets and raid dungeons!

Achieve anything you want! The choice is yours, you set your own goals to work towards!

Start small and improve your base, skills, equipment, network of friends (and enemies!) and build your future as you see fit! You can play Forager in a very varied array of playstyles...

BECOME... A GATHERER

BECOME... A FARMER

BECOME... A MERCHANT

BECOME... AN ADVENTURER

BECOME... A BUILDER

ALL REVIEWS:

Very Positive (2,204)

RELEASE DATE:

Apr 18, 2019

DEVELOPER:

HopFrog

PUBLISHER:

Humble Bundle

Chucklefish released a new game called Pathway on April 11, 2019

It is 15.99 on steam.

It is singleplayer

It is a squad based Adventure, Indie, RPG, Strategy

Features:

DYNAMIC ADVENTURES - Discover 5 different campaigns of varying difficulty, with each and every attempt generating a new web of encounters and unique storyline.

TOUGH CHOICES - Every explored location presents you with one of over 400 hand-crafted story events. Search the well? Save the villagers? It's up to you!

DECISIVE CONFLICTS - Use cover and positioning in exciting turn-based squad combat. Learn to make the best use of your equipment and your team’s abilities, to vanquish a relentless foe, in ruthless and clever ways!

BUILD YOUR TEAM OF ADVENTURERS - Each of Pathway’s 16 unlockable characters has their own skills, weaknesses and quirks, from the almighty melee strength of Brunhilda, to rifle expert daredevil Jackson, and knife-wielding huntress Shani.

HIDDEN TREASURES - Unearth riches untold, from common weaponry to rare and unique items with special abilities. Perfect your load-out and cash-in on your high-value treasures for a tidy profit.

THRILLING VISUALS - Classic 16-bit pixel art enhanced with unprecedented depth, lighting and shadows using Pixel/Voxel Hybrid Technology.

RECOVER & REPLAY - Sometimes failure is the best path to winning. Progressively explore the procedurally generated world, and grow stronger and learn more with each defeat, taking your loot with you even after death.

Community Spotlight

My Directory I'm working on.

What Should We call it?

Massive Legacy

Bold Chaos

Rotten Singularity

Bounty of the Reckless

Torment of the Rich

Protectors of the Joyful

Storm of the Living

Poison Assault

Watersmiths

Killingcry

Closing Thought

As we going into our gaming realms this week, let us be intentional and mindful with our actions.

What’s something we can do to glorify God in game?

Please let me know what you came up with! Send those ideas and any prayer requests ( private or public) you'd like to share to:

Follow the show on Twitter: twitter.com/A_CGPodcast

You can follow me on twitter @RainnaPlays

Email the Show at AChristianGamingPodcast@gmail.com !

You can call the show at 269 248 1724

20 views0 comments
bottom of page