top of page

Episode 3 Biscuit Brigade Show-notes!




Hello there Cowpokes, Farmers and Outlaws!

Today is: July 22, 2019 I am RainnaSwiftsage and you are listening to Episode of The Biscuit Brigade!

The Biscuit Brigade is a podcast where I will share and talk about the sandbox Survival Game or games I am playing! Currently that is Ark Survival Evolved and Outlaws of the OldWest! And I don’t foresee that changing anytime soon!

You can follow the show on twitter @BiscuitBrigade!

You can email the show at BiscuitBrigadePodcast @gmail.com

And you can follow me on twitter @RainnaPlays!

News!

https://twitter.com/Official_WW_Dev/status/1153478593999040512?s=19

Wizard Khalifa [developer] Jul 8 @ 2:50pm

HOW TO SUBMIT A BUG REPORT [Patch 1.2.5]

Howdy Outlaws!

Please use this thread to discuss bugs.

To formally submit a bug report, please follow this link here:

List of Community Submitted Bugs:

The above spreadsheet will show Community Submitted Bug as of the current patch. :)

Players may add input on column M for Community Comments. :)

Thank you very much for your support! :)

Jul 22

Wild West Summer Camp Comic Contest

Outlaws of the Old West - Wizard Khalifa

Howdy Outlaws!

How is everyone faring in their first summer out in the scorching heat of the Wild West? Are you continuing your travels and braving the hot spell of the desert? Make sure you've packed your canteens, we wouldn't want you to hallucinate and pass out! Or are you taking it easy, staying out of the sun and enjoying some good ol' whiskey? Summer nights are also the perfect time to gather 'round a campfire and tell stories.

Show us how you've been spending your summer in the Summer Camp Comic Contest!

Details

Make a one-page Summer Camp themed comic using in-game screenshots!

Editing in filters/text/effects to the comic is allowed

No editing in items/assets not found in the game

A comic template with panels and blank template will be provided. Dimensions and position of the Outlaws Summer Camp title and logos must remain the same.

Judging

The Community Team will choose our top 3 favorites. Remaining submissions will then be posted onto the Official Wandering Wizard Facebook page where they will be up for community vote. So if you haven't already, be sure to like our page here: https://www.facebook.com/OfficialWanderingWizard/

Timeline

Submission Period: July 22th 6:30 pm PDT - July 29th 6:30 pm PDT

Voting Period: July 30 12:00 pm PDT - Aug 2 6:30 pm PDT

Winners Announcement: Aug 5 12:00 am PDT

Prizes

Community Team Grand Prize Winner: $25 USD Amazon Gift Card

Two Runner Ups: Outlaws Steam Key to share with a friend

Crowd Favorite (top facebook likes): $25 USD Amazon Gift Card

Comic Templates

Please email your submissions to social@wanderingwizard.com with the Subject "Outlaws Summer Camp Comic Contest"

We're looking forward to seeing your Summer Camp stories! Good luck, Outlaws! :)

What I like about the game so far?

I love the animations in the game and the attention to detail! Here are just a few examples!.

You can really tell that the developers are very detailed oriented

The watering plants animation, Getting on and off your horses. Other games just shoot you off of your mount like a rocket.

I live the tree animations when you cut a tree down. It is very realistic. It doesn't just immediately vanish nor is it immediately swallowed by the land beneath it like I have seen in other games.

I love the fact that when you shoot your gun, like the trapdoor model in game, it immediately releases black smoke that lingers in your line of site affecting your ability to target immediately after firing it if you remain in the same place! That is so realistic and an awesome attention to detail!

I love that when you walk on terrain , even in your dirt filled crop plots, you can see your characters foot prints slowly vanish.

Bugs and Suggestions!

Me-

Due to a current ingame bug, I would not use your fridge to store food. I will have meat last forever on my inventory, If I place it in the low tier fridge, with ice? That food spoils in a blink of an eye.

Me- ( I wrote this before they announced the latest summer camp contest )

I hope they reconsider the monthly update schedule or at least fire up the community involvement on social media to keep their game relevant because it is such a good game!

A month is A LONG TIME and without any interaction from their internal community with the player base in the external community, i feel they risk continuing to bleed players because there is very minimal interaction.

Game development is part of a relationship,a relationship with the consumer and future consumers. In any relationship, there is an element of upkeep. Whether that be continual updates, basic interactions on social media, Community contests or spotlights…. SOMETHING.

Some companies are really good at this, and some fail miserably. Either way you look at it, communication is necessary for the success of many things more than it is the cause of failure.

They definitely spoiled the community around the game with the steady rich flow of content, but I think cutting the community off cold turkey is why they will run into problems if they don't at least maintain community involvement through the month

The pockets of consumer created communities around this game is the only thing keeping this game remotely relevant. The hand full of streamers, the Youtubers, the Facebook Groups, Discord Servers etc. They are where the communication about the game is at, it is definitely not coming from the company side of things. Like it or hate it, it is what it is.

TIPS for new players like me:

When farming out of large crop plots, it appears you have to destroy them to plant new ones? I have not found this confirmed anywhere, but if you are like me and have used the How tool to lay down large crop plots and harvested your plants, planted more, then returned to harvest them and found them bare ? I have had to destroy each plot and rebuild , reseed and re fertilize and rewater them to get a fresh new crop. Once I did all of that, I had a new harv erst waiting sortly, so definitely have a nice supply of fiber and stone handy , you're going to need it if you have to replace a large area garden.

Forum Stroll !

Steam, Discord, Reddit! All the places!

Steam

decypher4200 Memory leak when tabbing out to any web page

I get a huge memory leak if I tab out and use chrome for anything. I have 16gigs and it will max out to the point I can't even open task manager to close the game. Single player or multiplayer and regardless of how long I have been playing. I would take a screenshot but my computer is almost completely froze up. Windows 7 64bit. I can replicate the problem at will. Even if on the start menu tabbing out will cause this.

OH MY BISCUITS ! This is so infuriating!

It will completely lock up my computer if I interact with ANY other screen or program if the Game is open.

If I go to stream the game on twitch, I have to log into twitch and start streaming THEN launch the game and make sure not to touch anything but the game which is frustrating but also might contribute to why the streaming of the game has dwindled so fast.

I also have Windows 7 64 bit and can also replicate it at will, although I have also been playing Conan Exiles and have noticed that it does the same thing, but just not as much.

He-Man Health stacking

So, I've taken a break from this game for a couple months and I'm wondering if they ever fixed the issue with health. Previously everyone would level health on every level up, so eventually it would take 20+ shots just to kill someone. Have they changed this at all, or made any pvp changes?

Buckshot replied:

Health stacking is so wrong on many levels. There shouldn't even be a health bar/meter. It is so unfair to new players who may want to have a good ole "shoot out" with someone. If a veteran player has health stacked, he is practically invincible while the new player becomes an easy target, even if both players have the same weapons. Just my opinion.

WHAT! Health stacking is so wrong? Nope not at all.

This is perfectly acceptable. It's not like they are getting an additional 20 points to use on top of what others get. They are choosing to forgo other talents or abilities to jack up their health and that is perfectly OK. It is called tanking in the gaming world and that is a game mechanic working as intended :)

Steam Pinkachu

[Suggestion] Need a full inventory warning. (And where does excessive stuff go?)

I loaded up my inventory and was headed to my newly picked 'town' site with supplies when I ran into my first group of Skull Gang. Killed the leader and looted 15 gold bars. WOOT!! Well, at least I was excited until I checked my inventory and they weren't in it. Oh that's right, my inventory is full of supplies. I have come across similar issues with gathering. Even when my inventory is full, I can keep gathering all I want and it sometimes takes a bit for me to realize I am totally wasting time and tools because I'm not actually collecting anything. I am aware of the 'weight' warning, but why isn't there one for a full inventory, and why can you still loot if it IS full? I would have gladly dropped a stack of fiber or something to make room for those gold bars.

Sweet mother of biscuits YES.

This happened to me too! I was out farming and had a full inventory but was not encumbered.

I was attacked by bandits, killed them and went to loot them and poof! NOTHING because I had all of my inventory slots full. Definitely needs to be fixed by haveing a warning like other games have that says inventory full and leaves the bandits items on their body.

angriff has Outlaws of the Old West 4 hours ago

Why not an economy PVP game instead of just another raider's with explosives game

First let me say I like this game. I like it allot. I just built a wagon and created a camp away from my first build site and found certain resources more plentiful. So I built another camp and regularly move back and forth with resources. So I visited the town and only gold gets me money , why?

I could see this game moving into town competitions. Yes, there can be bounties and bad town owners steal all the money from miners by making their gold exchange give less money while they take a bigger cut. Yes the bank can get robbed and money lost. Yes I can blow up a competitors mine, I could build a train to charge for a quick trip to a town in the desert that pays a little better for my wares. I could build a stage coach for the same reason. Yes, the coach could be robbed with all the people on it. All those thing make great PVP. Bounties on the Robbers. Why does everyone have to be killed and what they build have to be destroyed?

I loved this suggestion off of the Outlaws Discord Server by:

RussianSanity

I hope they eventually put in gold panning!

Definitely a fantastic idea !

Steam 1stGenGamer

Ownership text interfering with aim and other things

It would be much better if the ownership text would NOT appear in the middle of the screen. It obscures your aim. It also frequently blocks your view from windows. Maybe move it somewhere else?

Old West Fact:

10. Jesse James was larger than life—so much that his body required two graves.

Few outlaws were as notorious during their own lifetimes as Jesse James. Though he lived a quiet existence in Kearney, Missouri, after his bank robbing days were over, old friends—and enemies—never forgot him. After Jesse was murdered, he was buried in the front yard of his farm to thwart grave robbers. As the years passed and his enemies died off, he was reinterred in a Kearney cemetery by his family. So who’s that lying in the Jesse James grave in Granbury, Texas? A man named J. Frank Dalton who came forward around 1948, at age 101, claiming he was the “real” Jesse James. A court even allowed him to legally adopt the bandit’s name. No one knows why Dalton made this claim or if he ever had any link to Jesse James. Regardless, mitochondrial DNA showed decades later that James is indeed buried in Mount Olivet Cemetery in Kearney—but his legend lives on in Granbury.

Citation Information

Article Title

10 Things You Didn’t Know About the Old West

Author

Elizabeth Hanes

Website Name

HISTORY

URL

https://www.history.com/news/10-things-you-didnt-know-about-the-old-west

Access Date

July 21, 2019

Publisher

A&E Television Networks

What I've been doing:

I have been playing on three servers so far! I have been working on my biscuit Brigade Ranch on my private Biscuits Server.

I have been playing on Whispabirds server. She has a great community and server and youtube channel . You should go check her out! She covers Outlaws of the old west and has just begun playing Atlas .

Her latest video covers them being attacked by a bounty hunters in game after killing off left over deputies . They were getting rid of the prefab buildings and when they did so, there were left over deputies, so they thought they would kill them off and then POOF Bounty hunters arrived! You should check out her video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWD79LIf96U

I have been building my homestead on her Replicas Roost server and building a restaurant.

I started on another Official Server, I believe it was the US East 6. It had been wiped recently and has the largest amount of players on it, the highest at 15 the other night. I went to log back into it and it was gone, which is why I recommend playing on several different servers :)

Wild West Terminology!

Acknowledge the Corn – To admit the truth, to confess a lie, or acknowledge an obvious personal shortcoming.

Acock – Knocked over, defeated, astounded, suddenly surprised.

Acorn Calf – A weak or runty calf.

Acquisitive – Booty, plunder.

Acreocracy – Signifies a landlord interest.

Name the Outlaw!

Men

Jerry 'Bad Mouth' McKenzie

Marion 'Artist' Hurst

Fredrick 'Honor' Shaffer

Cecil 'Courage' Carson

Francis 'the Immortal' Dillard

Women

Katie 'Have Mercy' Ewing

Madeline 'the Bullet' James

Irene 'Scar' Walls

Barbara 'Fluke' Morrison

Freda 'Justice' Bell

Well that's a wrap! If you would like to get ahold of the show to share a tip, share a tale, or share an EA Tear just email BiscuitBrigadePodcast@gmail.com or reach out on twitter @BiscuitBrigade! You can also go to You can find this show, the show notes, others ways to contact me as well as the other gaming podcast I host at www.RainnaPlays.com !

It's been a pleasure , and until next time, Rainna out!

5 views0 comments
bottom of page