top of page

Episode Biscuit Brigade Podcast Episode 1 Show-notes





Hello there Cowpokes, Farmers and Outlaws!

Today is:June 25th, 2019 and I am RainnaSwiftsage and you are listening to Episode 1 of The Biscuit Brigade!

The Biscuit Brigade is a podcast where I will share and talk about the sandbox Survival Game or games I am playing! Currently that is Ark Survival Evolved and Outlaws of the OldWest! And I don’t foresee that changing anytime soon!

You can follow the show on twitter @BiscuitBrigade!

You can email the show at BiscuitBrigadePodcast @gmail.com

And you can follow me on twitter @RainnaPlays!

In the case you stumbled across this podcast and don't know what Outlaws of the Old West is, I will catch you up!

This description is off of their steam page:

Outlaws of the Old West is a massively multiplayer survival MMO with a huge world, thousands of items and a modular building system.

We can Survive the wild, build our own homestead, defeat villainous bandits and work with others to tame the Wild West.

The game has Multiple biomes and changing weather affects not only the types of resources you can harvest, but also the animals you encounter.

The scale of the environment and harsh climates will challenge the player's knowledge of the land and ability to survive.

Launching with an initial massive play area of 144km^2 that will only get larger it's easy to get lost in the wilderness.

RELEASE DATE:Mar 12, 2019

DEVELOPER:Virtual Basement LLC

PUBLISHER:Wandering Wizard

Buy Outlaws of the Old West

SPECIAL PROMOTION! Offer ends July 9

-30%$19.99=$13.99

What I like about the game so far?

That is seems to be pretty optimized compared to my experiences in Ark over the past four years and that is pretty awesome because this game has only been out for 3 months.

I love that the base game as it is now has soo many awesome personalization options already , where as I have to add 20 plus mods to my Ark server to have the same selection.

I love that there are bandits in the game as well as creatures in the world that I can contend with. I used to wish Ark would have AI NPCS like the bush people mods I used to load on my servers in Ark, so naturally I love the fact that they are already in the base game.

The Dev team for this game might not be the most active on social media, or the most interactive in the community at this early stage , but they are hammering out updates and really showing that they might not be replying to the community as much as some feel they should, but their actions via the patch notes show they are definitely listening.

I love the different biomes I have ventured into so far! Each biome has its own animals to see and contend with!

I love the AI in the bandits! They are so hilarious! Im not a fan of their twitching and erratic behavior many have mentioned, But I love the fact that they are slick! They are creepy! I have logged in multiple times to a bandit spying in my window! When I move to the back loft, he moves to the back of my house to get a good look in my window. I try to escape and I get a lasso around me on my horse! It was hilarious!

I'm excited to see what they have in store for us !

News!

Last week I noticed that there was a changing of hands in the OutLaws of the Oldwest community. In the Outlaws official Discord First wizard posted the message

First Wizard Last Friday at 8:53 PM

Hey everyone, I am moving on to new things in life, so @Wizard Khalifa will be taking over my role here. Be sure to send her your reports about servers being down!

So if you see that First Wizard is no longer the one interacting with the community on Steam Via News Posts and in the Official Discord, that is why! Welcome

@Wizard Khalifa !

Latest Patch Notes

June 25th - Patch 1.2.4

JUN 24 @ 6:47PM - WIZARD KHALIFA

Howdy!

Summer is upon us and hopefully you're not stuck wandering around - bandits will be the least of your worries when you're traveling in the intense heatwave! With the addition of player shops to earn money, and blueprints to help make your place feel more like your own, you'll be more than comfortable escaping the sun and enjoying ice cold drinks in your establishment.

Client Update 5:00 PM Pacific

Estimated Downtime 30 Minutes

Changelog 6/25/19

Code:

Added prefab NPCs as individually placeable items, available from mailbox.

This was awesome because this has been a huge community request! Having each player have to build these prefabs lead to server lag and towns built everywhere that looked a lot alike. Now players that want to build their own buildings can place the NPC’s in there and they have a more unique customized experience.

This allows the players that don't like to build the opportunity to use awesome looking prefab buildings!

I love that they did this. They saw the need and understood the reasoning and jumped on it. I remember the Ark community getting irritated for a long time with the wonky kibble system. In order to reduce the taming time of dinos you could make kibble , but in order to make kibble you had to tame a lot of dinos to have them lay their eggs for you to collect to get the kibble made leading to a lot of dinos just hanging around cluttering the server and causing lag. The fact that the Dev team for Outlaws jumped on this situation is awesome.

Changed mailbox contracts panel to a grid so it's easier to read.

Fixed guards not being interactable if initially placed on a foundation.

Added player shop which allows players to place items for sale at a price they would like, and others can purchase from this shop. Players will receive 80% of the profits.

This is awesome because it allows an avenue for player involvement and interaction! I had hoped that all of the prefab buildings wouldn't turn this MMO into a single player experience. It is always good to have some balance by offering players choices so I am happy to see a lot of choices being offered to us in these set of patch notes!

Added cheat prevention for transferring money to merchants.

Fixed naming storages not saving.

Added the zoomed out camera to moving large buildings.

Fixed crash on single player start or leave.

Fixed horses using the wrong slot index on their storage, breaking auto eating and drinking.

This is a great fix as the official discord was filled with tears from many players whose horses they had purchased for heavy chunks of gold had died right along with many players who had quite the horse collection. I wasn't too upset because they make it really easy to tame a horse in the game so I knew I could just get out and tame more, but those that chose to farm the 10 thousand gold to purchase a horse from the stables, I can understand their tears. But at the same time, I wouldn't spend 10,000 gold on a horse in an early access game with the expectation I will have it forever....

Fixed bad server performance after the previous update.

VFX & Assets:

Added a new tool (Blueprints) - this tool allows players to build many of the pieces originally found in the prefabs.

This is so cool! They definitely went above and beyond with this option! They not only let you purchase just an NPC instead of the entire prefab building , but now you can create the items that are in the prefabs? SOOOOO AWESOME!

Fixed snake mount not showing up in taxidermist menu.

Made saloon easier to place.

I think this was a great thing from the frustration I have seen from some of the twitch streamers. I watched a guy lose his mind lol He would place the saloon and it would appear out of his walls and in the prairie next to him. It was hilarious as a stream viewer but definitely not as the streamer.

Adjusted recipes and crafting time for all clothing items in the sewing bench.

Fixed clothing selling price.

Fixed gun clipping on main menu.

Changed Garden bed to require water every 4 hours.

I think this should be extended . I hate it when games try to run your life. Many people work 8 or more hours a day and to know that while your working and sleeping some plants need to be watered seems a bit unrealistic? Unless they plan to have a way to extend the water time via another mechanic in the game I am currently unaware of.

Increased health of crazed miners.

Fixed destroying stairs from breaking foundations.

Thanks for all of your support! There's no summer break out on the frontier, so keep the feedback coming, we appreciate it!

Old West Fact:

Feral camels once roamed the plains of Texas.

the U.S. Camel Corps was established in 1856 at Camp Verde, Texas.

the arid southwest was a lot like the deserts of Egypt

According to Smothsonian.com, In 1855, under the direction of then-Secretary of War Jefferson Davis, Congress appropriated $30,000 for "the purchase and importation of camels and dromedaries to be employed for military purposes."

Davis believed that camels were key to the country's expansion westward; a transcontinental railroad was still decades away from being built, and he thought the animals could be well suited to haul supplies between remote military outposts.

By 1857, after a pair of successful trips to the Mediterranean and the Middle East, the U.S. Army had purchased and imported between 60-75 camels I have read conflicting reports regarding the number.

Despite the animals’ more objectionable qualities—they spat, regurgitated and defied orders—the experiment was generally deemed a success.

The Army used them as beasts of burden on short supply trips to San Antonio.

under orders from WashingtonIn June 1857,, the herd was split:

two dozen were sent on an expedition to California, led by Edward Fitzgerald Beale.

As the Civil War broke out, exploration of the frontier was curtailed and Confederates captured Camp Verde.

After the war, most of the camels were sold (some to Ringling Brothers’ circus) and others escaped into the wild. The last reported sighting of a feral camel came out of Texas in 1941.

Presumably, no lingering descendants of the Camel Corps’ members remain alive today.

What I've been doing:

Latest Adventure? After restarting 6 or 7 times on official servers, and suffering from logging into the server with a frozen character, I decided to rent a small server from Nitrado for a few friends and myself to play on. I like that a lot so far!

Tip? Make your spinning wheel first to tame a horse and your life will be gravy! Then immediately destroy the spinning wheel so that you don't liter the land with your nonsense.

I wish there was a decay timers on stuff like that.

I am currently rebuilding on my Biscuit Brigade Server in the 11 14 grid. I love that little stream that feeds into the pond below. It has been fun! I also joined an RP server , but have not got to RP yet as it is new and growing :)

Wild West Terminology!

Abisselfa – By itself.

Abandons – Foundlings. Also applied to a lady of the night.

Above-Board – In open sight, without artifice, or trick.

Above One’s Bend – Out of one’s power, beyond reach.


Cowboy Names

David 'Bushwacker' Church

Gus 'Croaker' Hopper

Rufus 'Wager' Stark

Clayton 'Bloodlust' Charles

Adam 'Bull' Puckett

Cowgirl Names

Ida 'Bad Egg' Haney

Isabelle 'Trapper' Jones

Mollie 'Bad Mouth' Stevenson

Selma 'Integrity' Newman

Effie 'Leather' Bush

Well thats a wrap! If you would like to get ahold of the show to share a tip, share a tale, or share an EA Tear just email BiscuitBrigadePodcast@gmail.com or reach out on twitter @BiscuitBrigade! You can find this show, the show notes, others ways to contact me as well as the other gaming podcast I host at RainnaPlays.com!

Its been a pleasure , and until next time, Rainna out!

4 views0 comments
bottom of page