top of page

My Recipe for a better 2020!


2020 has arrived and with that comes a fresh new year. For many that means New years resolutions pop up all over filling the new batch of days with hope and good intentions. There are also many who will not hop on that new years buzz train and will continue moving forward into 2020 picking up where they left off in 2019. Whichever side you find yourself gravitating too, one thing I find refreshing is the option to use this time to start a change if you have been feeling led to do so. That is where I found myself. For me, this year has been a great one! Not only does it mark a year since I have been recording this podcast, but it is another year where I can celebrate God. I have also felt led to make needed changes in my life , and among those how I spend my time.




My inspiration for change in 2020 came from God inspiring me to continue to make changes and was solidified by an advertisement I saw for a product being sold on Amazon. A product called “The NoPhone Original Cell Phone” popped up on my Facebook feed so I took the bait and followed the link and found myself on a page with what looked like a smart phone being sold for 15$? I thought, “what the biscuits is an original No Phone!?” Upon reading the description I found my answer,


“ It has no data plan, no camera, no battery, no Wi-Fi but is completely toilet-bowl resistant! It's the perfect phone for someone who uses their phone too much!” It goes on to say in the Product Description, “The NoPhone is a fake phone for people who are addicted to real phones. As seen on ABC's Shark Tank, the NoPhone offers the only true alternative to constant hand-to-phone contact.”


It brags that , “ Over 12,000 NoPhone have been Sold. The NoPhone is a technology-free alternative to constant hand-to-phone contact that allows you to stay connected with the real world. The NoPhone was awarded #1 Useless Gadget of 2015, beating out the Apple Watch.”


“No Wifi. No Camera. No Phone. With a thin, light and completely wireless design, the NoPhone acts as a surrogate to any smart mobile device, enabling you to always have a rectangle of smooth, cold plastic to clutch without forgoing any potential engagement with your direct environment.”


gif

So Even though reading the descriptions is hilarious, the product being sold was screaming a bigger message. It was a mirror that I chose to look into. Was that their intent while also making bank? Maybe? I found it interesting though that that this “No Phone and the Bible were actually on the same page. It stood out to me when I read the bible verses that Paul wrote In Ephesians 5:15-17 (NIV),

" 15 Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, 16 making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. 17 Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.”

I do not count myself among the many that are truly addicted to their phones or social media, but I do have it with me wherever I go and I am always listening to something . Podcasts, YouTube Channels, Sermons, music…. and that means I always have the option to pick my phone up and scroll out of convenience. I have changed a couple of things to help me spend less time on my phone and to use that time to consume better content.

  1. The Bluetooth headphones my sister got me for Christmas!They have really cut down the amount of time that I spend near my phone. This means that I spend less time being sucked into the swipe-fest and the rabbit holes that we find ourselves burdened with. I can move freely about the house without being tethered to my phone and that has helped.

  2. I also downloaded the Dwell app to my phone so I can listen to the Bible being read as I go about my business. What I really enjoy about Dwell is that I can pick different listening plans, listen to certain stories in the bible, and also listen to scriptures in a playlist that is meant to listen to as you fall asleep. I can change the voice and the music so I can actually enjoy listening and not want to nod off . This has allowed me to be showered in the word as well as being filled with the word and refreshed by the word instead of filling my mind with the words and creations of the man and the world. Everything in moderation !


The Dwell App Offers:


I definitely feel better and encourage you to join me in making this new year better by taking a second look at our life. Join me in finding new ways that we can make the most of every minute and everyday in a way that can glorify God . Making wiser choices regarding content, habits, routines and the people we surround ourselves with. Little tweaks can pay off with big results!



5 views0 comments
bottom of page