top of page

The Biscuit Brigade Podcast Episode #2 Show-notes!




Hello there Cowpokes, Farmers and Outlaws!

Today is: July 9th, 2019 I am RainnaSwiftsage and you are listening to Episode of The Biscuit Brigade!

The Biscuit Brigade is a podcast where I will share and talk about the sandbox Survival Game or games I am playing! Currently that is Ark Survival Evolved and Outlaws of the Old West! And I don’t foresee that changing anytime soon!

You can follow the show on twitter @BiscuitBrigade!

You can email the show at BiscuitBrigadePodcast @gmail.com

And you can follow me on twitter @RainnaPlays!

News!

Howdy Outlaws!

How's everyone's first Summer out on the Old West? We hope you're all staying cool out there! :)

We know you guys have been eagerly anticipating news of the next patch. We would like to announce that we will now be moving to monthly patches. Not to worry, we haven't slowed down! We are paying attention to all your bug reports and feedback, and the Development Team continue to be hard at work fixing the code and looking into how we can make Outlaws of the Old West into the best game it can be! We hope that this change will help to bring out higher quality patches in the future! :)

In the meantime, please stay tuned for some Community updates!

Note: We are aware of the server outages and have already contacted our Server Hosts. They are continuing maintenance work on their end, so unfortunately some servers may still be down at this time. We apologize for the inconvenience and will look to get them back up as soon as we can! Thank you for your patience!

Known affected servers: PVP EU 7, PVE EU 18, and PVE US West 6

Patch Notes:

Scheduled patches will now be monthly. (Hotfixes and minor changes may come as necessary) However, we will be pushing a few updates for patch 1.2.5 before moving to a monthly patch schedule.

Client Update 5:00 PM Pacific

Estimated Downtime 30 Minutes

Hotfix 7/3/19

-Fixed sitting on a chair facing the wrong direction

-Fixed coffee breans not showing up in general store

-Made currency trade window always appear on top

-Fixed characters not calculating velocity correctly and sliding around on other clients

-Made storage window not draggable

-Made chair enter and exit animation more natural

ChangeLog 7/2/19

Code:

Mineshaft entrances can now be moved when not active.

Chicken Coops, Troughs, Beehives and oil pumps can now be moved.

Made it so you can destroy actors even if their structure id is bad.

Fixed moving items related to water surfaces.

Prevented moving items that don't belong on the water to the water.

Beehive no longer continuously shows green after being moved.

Fixed issue with vivox leaving voice channels after joining a server when it took too long to load. This was breaking VOIP for a lot of people in towns.

Fixed placement/loading of wall snap decorations like the bank top.

Added coffee buff ability.

Update hotbar number on equipment slot when hotbar item is changed.

Implemented venom, anti venom and poison purchasable from snake oil salesman.

Added traveling merchants, Snake Oil Salesmen that wonder the map and sell special items to players.

VFX & Assets:

Added color variations to Bull.

Fixed Cash Machine showing wrong name in Blueprints radial menu.

Slightly lowered the crazed miner health.

Made supply shop big enough so players can stand inside.

Coffee grinder now craftable in carpentry bench.

We apologize for the late update and changes. Thank you all for your patience and understanding. We appreciate all of the feedback and reports, please keep them coming as we continue to develop and improve the Outlaws experience. :)

What I like about the game so far?

Still runs better than Atlas and Ark for me. Graphics are clean and crisp.

I love the in-game mailbox mail system! It is something I think all games like this can benefit from!

The map is big and it is nice to be able to communicate with others in the game .

I do wish there was a notification for if you have mail in the future, but the mail system is awesome. You can

I love that the chat boxes are separated in the game. You don't have to sift through Global, local, guild ...Each has its own tab and that is cool. I love that.

I love that they added the Blueprint option. I love that I don't have to add a furniture mod to the base game to spice up my homestead like I have to do in other games.

I still love the bandits in the game. They don’t just stay in their area. They wander around and are oddly attracted to your buildings lol Nothin creeps me out more then when I am out cutting wood and all of a sudden I see bandits creeping one after another up to my fence and circling my homestead LOL

Possible changes

Add more mobs in game. Perhaps more concentrated in more advanced living areas in biomes?I live in a grid where I get visiting bank bandits from the north of my homestead and the skull games visits from the south.

Make it so Bandits can't just walk through your log walls and through your barbed wire fences. I came close to wetting myself the other day. I was at my lumber table and poof! I was being accosted by bandits inside of my house lol

I was in first person view at the time and all of a sudden I was shot. I turn around as I see this creepy face walking through the wall to the side of me. Thankfully I had a bow and arrow on me and fended off the first intruder. Barely. Then all of a sudden one of his pals walks through the wall behind me and I ran up stairs to get my gun and noticed they cant follow me upstairs, so I am starting to build my buildings off of the ground for now to avoid the random heart attacks brought on by ghost bandits lol

This my not be a popular opinion, but If I were them, I would wipe the servers and cut down on the amount of servers they offer.

IMO, There is no reason to have so many servers for such a new game. You end up with tons of servers with like 0 to 6 players on them.

When people who just buy the game come and login and see so many servers and most of them being empty it makes the game look dead and abandoned.

I always pick servers where there are more people playing because If I wanted to play by myself, I would play on Single Player.

It is annoying to have to sift through what feels like over a hundred servers to find a server.

So I vote to clean and consolidate the servers. Let me know your thoughts at rainnaplays.com or by email the show at biscuitbrigadepodcast@gmail.com.

TIPS:

Make a lasso first to get your horse

When you make the crafting tables, your crafting is not limited to those tables.

You can actually craft the items in your inventory and in those crafting tables that unlock even more crafting abilities! So make sure to equip the tool and then activate it by using your right mouse button.

Make a mailbox when you can so you can get and receive help from those on the server.

Forum Stroll !

Steam, Discord, Reddit! All the places!

Because forums aren't only for headaches, sometimes you can get some good tips and laughs!

Kuff95

Discord

The already built saloon does anyone know if there is more to it then just the bar guy...i'm confused i thought i seen in some videos dancing girls and ect

Part of me wanted to tell them that they could be bought from the mailbox….but I opted to tell the truth, they may have just been other players RPing as bar dancers LOL

Steam

Official Server Problems?

Are there Server Problems with the Official Servers? Many People cant join the Officials

My Answer is yes. Official Servers have problems, but I have been pleasantly surprised with the communities on the official server. Very friendly, helpful, and more into riding around to visit and get to know neighbors in the game. The amount of RP friendly additions to the game definitely aids in this I feel. I have seen on many servers I have traveled to and from, players making cities for other players to join in on and work together.

I have played on 8 or more US official servers and for various reasons I have stopped.

Reason: Lag.

The older the server the more cluttered they are as the game has no demo timers atm. Stuff just piles up and piles up and wipes will have to happen.

They added the option to just purchase the NPC as opposed to an entire prefab building which will definitely cut down on the clutter.

I would not be surprised if they choose to do complete server wipes since they added this option.

They had also added the ability to craft lassos in your crafting tab which will definitely help to reduce clutter of spinning wheels!

In a game like this, it is always beneficial to play on a variety of servers to avoid having all of your gaming hours go down the drain if the plug gets pulled on any of them.

Steam

Trapdoor vs 1863 Musket?

Both cost the same to make (15 Planks, 20 Iron Bars) and use ball ammo, and yet the 1863 Musket only does 15 damage compared to Trapdoor, which does 30. What is the point of making the 1863 Musket?

Not gonna lie! I thought the same thing! I love the choices we have in the game regarding ammo and firearms, but I do feel they need to be diversified and more balanced? I'd like to think this will be a thing as they move forward. I of-course chose to roll with the Trapdoor and I have stuck with it for now. I have been focusing on building so far, but when I have more time

Snake River Jack suggested “If one wants to play old skool one can make all the buckskin clothes and have the musket, blunderbuss, and one of the single shot pistols. One can experience hunting with single shot guns before the Sharps and repeater rifles,etc. was introduced. Kinda fun to try killing a moose or grizzly with a single shot that's not the Sharps.’

I can see them using the skins of different guns for that reason for sure, I just hope they even out the damage and the resources for these items in the future.

Old West Fact:

The California Gold Rush of 1849 wasn’t America’s first gold rush.

It wasn’t even the second.

When young Conrad Reed found a large yellow rock in his father’s field in Cabarrus County, North Carolina, in 1799, he had no idea what it was. Neither did his father, John Reed.

The family reportedly used it as a doorstop for several years, until a visiting jeweler recognized it as a 17-pound gold nugget.

The rush was on. Eventually, Congress built the Charlotte Mint to cope with the sheer volume of gold dug up in North Carolina.

In 1828 gold was discovered in Georgia, leading to the nation’s second gold rush. Finally, in 1848, James Marshall struck it rich at Sutter’s Mill in California, and thousands of Forty-Niners moved west to seek their fortunes.

What I've been doing:

I still have my private server and I joined an Unofficial ORR Server that has a nice community last week.

I have decided to start building in the 10 14 grid and apparently that is near a Skull gang encampment and another bandit encampment because I get a couple visits from them to my homestead.

Wild West Terminology!

Above Snakes – If you were “above snakes,” you were above ground – meaning still alive.

Absquatulate – To leave or disappear.

Ace in the Hole – A hideout or a hidden gun.

Ace-High – Depending upon the context, this might mean “first class and respected”, or it could mean a winning poker hand.

According to Hoyle – Correct, by the book. “Hoyle” is a dictionary of rules for card playing games.

Name the Outlaw!

Men

Jay 'Dusk' Norris

Stephen 'Bull' Moody

Harold 'Artist' Anderson

Levi 'Hawkeyes' Pickett

Anthony 'Lawful' Parks

Women

Agnes 'the Con' Alexander

Viola 'Mystery' Bowen

Minnie 'Serpent' Davis

Maria 'Boot-Licker' Moss

Dollie 'Odd Stick' Hayden

Well that's a wrap! If you would like to get ahold of the show to share a tip, share a tale, or share an EA Tear just email BiscuitBrigadePodcast@gmail.com or reach out on twitter @BiscuitBrigade! You can also go to You can find this show, the show notes, others ways to contact me as well as the other gaming podcast I host at www.RainnaPlays.com !

It's been a pleasure , and until next time, Rainna out!

6 views0 comments
bottom of page